Turn on computer remotely

Did you know that you can turn on a computer over LAN or Internet? Yes you can! Why will you need it? For example you have a computer that you need to connect to remotely. So instead of keeping it always on, you can turn it on remotely and then just turn it of when you done.

I need it for my file server that I’ve made. I’ve installed Ubuntu a cheap PC and configured it as network file server. I want to hide it somewhere far at home and it will be connected only with power and LAN cable. I don’t need it always on so here how you set the “Wake on LAN”.

First you need to enable the “Wake on LAN” setting in the BIOS. It can be different depends on the manufacturer and version.

To enter the bios turn on the computer and keep pressing “Delete” key. Sometimes it can be F2 or F10.

In most cases you will find a setting called “Wake on LAN”. In my case it’s a bit different. I got Asus with UEFI BIOS Utility, here it called “Power On By PCI-E”.

asus-uefi-bios-advanced-apm

To turn on the computer remotely we need to send “magic packet” to the computer. For that I used “WakeMeOnLan” app. Here’s the link http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wake_on_lan.html

WakeMeOnLan

To turn on computer from a mobile phone I used “Wake on Lan” by Mike Webb. https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=co.uk.mrwebb.wakeonlan&hl=en

wake-on-lan-by-mike-webb

That’s it! Hope it will work for you too.

Leave a Reply

